Skip to Content
Coronavirus Updates

Knowledge

Is Your Data Secure? Protecting Confidential and Personal Information When Negotiating Third Party Vendor Agreements

July 09, 2020

Wednesday, August 5, 2020 at 2:00 pm EDT / 1:00 pm CDT / 10 am PDT

Company officials have come to accept that they are accountable for maintaining and enforcing appropriate cybersecurity protocols for their own company or else face the risk of shareholder derivative lawsuits or securities actions. The list of concerns for public companies grows, however, as officers and directors are now facing shareholder derivative suits for data security incidents incurred by the company’s third-party vendors, rather than by the company itself. As a result, public companies should be extra vigilant in reviewing their third-party service contracts. These vendor agreements are vital mechanisms for allocating risk amongst the parties and ensuring vendors implement proper cybersecurity safeguards while handling company data.

Join David Katz, Karime Barry and Caitlin Amick during this 60-minute complimentary CLE webinar as they provide an overview of basic data security diligence questions for which in-house counsel should obtain answers when negotiating any third-party vendor agreements. They will also provide an overview of the key data privacy and security terms that should be negotiated as part of any agreement. This presentation is designed to educate in-house counsel on the data security risks associated with the engagement of third-party technology service providers as well as how best to work with their in-house information technology teams on the procurement of information technology and selection of third-party service providers, which may have access to or process personal information on behalf of their corporate client.

Please note that this program is approved for one-hour CLE credit in GA, LA, SC and TN. CLE approvals still pending for FL, MS, and TX.

REGISTER HERE