Skip to Content

Adams and Reese New Orleans attorneys Jeffrey Richardson, Ronald Sholes and Martin Stern have been selected as the 2016 recipients of the Catherine D. Kimball Award for the Advancement of the Administration of Justice.

The Catherine D. Kimball Award, given by the Louisiana State Bar Association (LSBA), honors the trio’s collective exceptional outreach and advocacy in securing CLE credit for attorneys who perform pro bono work. Richardson, Sholes and Stern received the award along with retired Louisiana Supreme Court Justice Harry T. Lemmon on June 9th, 2016 at the General Assembly as the LSBA’s 2016 Combined Annual Meeting.

In January, Richardson, Sholes, Stern and Lemmon were honored with a Good Apple Award given by non-profit, Louisiana Appleseed, for their research and advocacy to encourage the Supreme Court of Louisiana to create a court rule allowing continuing legal education (CLE) credit for attorneys who perform pro bono work to help indigent clients.

The new rule – which became effective on May 1st, 2015 – enables every attorney who performs pro bono work to receive up to three CLE hours each calendar year. Attorneys who provide pro bono legal representation may receive one hour of CLE credit for every five hours of pro bono representation, up to a maximum of three credit hours per year. Louisiana is now one of 11 states in which attorneys can receive CLE credit for performing pro bono work, according to the American Bar Association.

The LSBA Catherine D. Kimball Award is an annual award established to honor Catherine D. Kimball, the first woman to serve as chief justice of the Louisiana Supreme Court.